Boulevard Cypress - Styling Help

Saru Bonsai

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I am a new member to this forum, and first things first i must say there are some beautiful trees here. And very knowledgeable people.

I have a Chamaecyparis pisifera ( Boulevard Cypress ), that i have been growing now for about 4 years from 2 gal. nursery stock. I am so stuck on how to style this tree! I have been studying it for a while now and I'm just not sure which way to take it. I'm looking for any kind of help as to what to do. I wont do any styling until next year, but I'm just very stuck on this one, and id really like to turn it into something because it has been with me since i started. Here are a few pictures of the tree:

Fall 2008
IMG_2867.jpg

Spring 2009
IMG_3220.jpg

Summer 2009
IMG_3299.jpg

I may have thinned it out a bit much this spring..but hopefully i didn't ruin its potential. Here's a virt i did, just some very very rough ideas.

CopyofEDIT5.jpg

Id lower the branches over time. There are a few problems with this styling though. Id hope for some serious back budding to develop more branching, but I'm not sure if it would happen.

The other route i was thinking is to layer the tree right below where the fork is, to make a twin trunk or triple trunk style. However I'm a bit hesitant because I'm not sure how well this tree roots, and i will loose a lot of trunk girth, and the established nebari. But its an idea.

So any help you guys can throw my way would be greatly appreciated.

Ps. I really look forward to posting here more!

the3rdon

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6A
wow! I don't know about that species, but looks like u got a good one to work with.

mcpesq817

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Id hope for some serious back budding to develop more branching, but I'm not sure if it would happen.

I think these have a very hard time with back budding. I've had one for about a year and a half now, and I haven't seen any back budding.

irene_b

Omono
Reaction score