Boxwood Identification

DrTolhur

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I bought a mame boxwood from a bonsai nursery, but it was just listed as "boxwood," so I don't know what variety. My research suggests that different varieties have differing levels of winter hardiness (and possibly other care). Is there any way to determine after the fact what variety it is? My guess is Kingsville, but I'm new to boxwoods.

Attachments

• IMG_3088.JPG
    IMG_3088.JPG
    163.2 KB · Views: 45

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I don't think anyone would not put the higher dollar commanding "kingsville" tag on it if it were.

I guess English. Buxus sempervirens 'Suffruticosa'.

Sorce

johng

Omono
Reaction score
The bark texture and leaf shape completely eliminate Kingsville as an option. The rounder shape leaves and bark suggest Morris Midget to me...I believe that is a cultivar of microphylla...

Regardless... in that small of a container it will need significant protection in 5b

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Not a Kingsville. Leaves too large, growth isn't tight enough. Probably a cultivar of Japanese boxwood (buxus microphylla) like the "Morris Midget" mentioned already. Might be English Box (buxus sempervirens), but those aren't reliably in nursery stocks. Definitely not American Boxwood (buxus sempervirens 'suffruticosa" leaves are too large and thick). Growing zone for English and American boxwood is 5-8. In Michigan both would be marginal, so that's another strike against those. Both English and American box are extremely common around where I live. I've got thousands of them around in old home sites. They've been planted here since the early 1700's and many of those are still alive.

GreatLakesBrad

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Agree that growth looks too large for Kingsville.

If you purchased from Flower Market, they have had morris midget in the past at all state bonsai shows.