Boxwood in S. California

Kaipai

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello

I have been practicing bonsai in New England for 25 years. I am moving to Southern California soon and have to make some hard choices about which trees I can bring- that will do well there. I work mostly with Maples, zelkova, hornbeam, hynoki cypress and Pines, all of which require winter dormancy and will not thrive there.

I have a boxwood that is about 50 years old and I’m wondering if anyone knows if the boxwood will do well in the Southern California environment, given the right shade screening and watering regiment.

Thank you, I look forward to hearing any suggestions or insights.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I think you're better off selling and starting fresh.

Climate is one thing...

Pests, travel, California, ...that's another.

Welcome to Crazy!

"And they tell me...."

Sorce

Wulfskaar

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
I am no tree expert, but it might depend on where you are moving to. Where I'm at in Southern CA, I see many types of in-ground trees growing well here, including pines, maples, and cypress. Trees that require freezing temps might not make it, but I'd try unless you could get good money out of your existing trees. We have deciduous trees and even though it doesn't get cold-cold, they are still in tune with the seasons. I would imagine with a little extra care that some would survive just fine.

yenling83

Omono
Reaction score
Hello

I have been practicing bonsai in New England for 25 years. I am moving to Southern California soon and have to make some hard choices about which trees I can bring- that will do well there. I work mostly with Maples, zelkova, hornbeam, hynoki cypress and Pines, all of which require winter dormancy and will not thrive there.

I have a boxwood that is about 50 years old and I’m wondering if anyone knows if the boxwood will do well in the Southern California environment, given the right shade screening and watering regiment.