Boxwood need light in winter?

JonW

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I have a nice collection of tropicals, but only a handful of cold hardy plants. I keep the cold hardy ones under my storm doors - it maintains dormancy, but protects against frost/freezing.

I'm thinking of expanding my hold-hardy plants (in part because I'm out of space to overwinter more tropicals!), but I'm still learning about this. I'm interested in boxwood, particularly Kingsville or Harlandii, which I know are both probably harder in my region than English. I have a lead on a nice Kingsville - would it be a risky investment?

What I've read about Kingsville (and Harlandii for the most part) are that they are less cold hardy than English and need winter protection. However, I also read they are semi-dormant, not fully dormant. Does this mean they still need sunlight? If so, storing it under my storm doors is out of the question. I know they can survive by a dimly lit window if it is around 50-degrees, but my house is warmer than that.

I have a few English boxwood in my yard that I might yard-a-dori in the future. Thanks for your help!

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I think the problem with those Boxwoods are, sure,the "finished" ones are nice, but that doesn't take away the fact that a cutting will never see a bonsai pot in a "finished" way, so they ought to be cheap.

All the "finished" ones I seen seem top suffer from "scaredtocutbackitus" which IMO makes them suck.
Screw paying for a gimmick.

Oh the leaves are small, but, like the tiny Ulmus, the list of shit qualities(everything else) keeps it from being worth buying.

But this is coming from an English Box Fan.

If I was the English Box in your yard, I would clown you for wasting time with those fake boxwoods and secretly come into the house,where their frail asses stay, and drip poison in their pots.

I don't mean to be rude. I just think you can get way more out of what you put into the locals.

Welcome to Crazy!