Boxwood Replant

Joel Osteen

Sapling
Reaction score
I have dug up a boxwood and I am looking for advice. It is so large I do not know what where to begin. 3 inch trunk 7 feet tall. Removed from the ground. Where should I start? Re plant in a large pot and wait to trim anything?

Housguy

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
I am not a boxwood expert, but depending on how much root ball you have, will probably depend on if you need to trim it or not. After you transplant it, put in shady area for it to recuperate. Good luck.

Joel Osteen

Sapling
Reaction score
You already started!

Pics!

Sorce

I just don’t know what to do with such a large specimen this is the most I’ve ever done. Very excited but clueless need help

Attachments

• B7BA81F3-3D1B-439F-A071-60661444BCDA.png
    B7BA81F3-3D1B-439F-A071-60661444BCDA.png
    515.4 KB · Views: 65
  • 822CC57F-71D0-4D3D-A48E-F3F20448B256.png
    822CC57F-71D0-4D3D-A48E-F3F20448B256.png
    424.1 KB · Views: 66

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Damn!

It looks right strong.

I would normally leave green, but in this case, with so little interior folaige, and being so large and healthy, I'd take it all the way back to....pretty much just trunk. As it doesn't seem much current branching is useful.

The alternative, leaving green, is probably going to leave you needing to take it back further later anyway, but later, it will be weaker.

So I reckon your best bet is going hizam!

You're going to dull the shit out some blades!

Sorce

Forsoothe!

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
You have a tiger by his tail. You coveted something instead of planning to fulfill a destination that you could provide. It won't end well. But, if you learn to collect a size you can handle and slowly work your way up the scale, that's something. Getting it to live is only one small portion of a much larger process.

Joel Osteen

Sapling
Reaction score
Damn!

It looks right strong.