Brand new to Bonsai

PhilSavalle

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5-6
Hey folks, bonsai beginner here!

I am interested in all varieties of trees but I currently think Japanese Maples are the most interesting for their color changing in the autumn. My first purchase is this Butterfly Maple which I plan to put in the ground to grow the trunk. Second tree is a Hinoki Cypress which I cleaned up a bit and am still waiting for some wire I ordered before I can try shaping the branches.

The Maple is grafted so I'd like to air layer it off of the graft to get it on its own roots. As a novice though I am wondering if I should wait until next year when its a bit larger. Any advice is more than welcome!

Attachments

• 20210609_140230.jpg
    20210609_140230.jpg
    304 KB · Views: 53
  • 20210611_131442.jpg
    20210611_131442.jpg
    141.7 KB · Views: 43
  • 20210611_135606.jpg
    20210611_135606.jpg
    201.6 KB · Views: 32
  • 20210613_145929.jpg
    20210613_145929.jpg
    159.6 KB · Views: 53

Eckhoffw

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4b
Welcome.
Good trees to start with.
as I’m sure you’d hear this from others, I’m going to recommend in the future leaving more inner foliage when doing initial pruning.
Try not to poodle the plant. It’s very easy to remove inner growth, lots harder to regain it. Your wire will also help with creating space for light distribution.

QuantumSparky

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce
I had been wondering how you got such a high reply number, makes sense now. Keep up the helpfulness xD

In other news, +1 for getting some wire on things before deciding what all you want to cut off. At least for me it helps visualize the final form.

PhilSavalle

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5-6
Welcome.
Good trees to start with.
as I’m sure you’d hear this from others, I’m going to recommend in the future leaving more inner foliage when doing initial pruning.