Brazilian Rain Tree

Jwalsh

Seed
Reaction score
I have this BRT that I trimmed maybe a few months ago. I am new to this so I don’t know if I did it right. The top of the tree has stopped sprouting, and seems kind of dead. The bottom of it is flourishing which is exciting.
I think I cut it back wrong.
Any advice or information?

Attachments

• CDA90F34-B047-48A1-9249-4FB6B0864B81.jpeg
    CDA90F34-B047-48A1-9249-4FB6B0864B81.jpeg
    255.5 KB · Views: 84

WNC Bonsai

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
BRT can be finickly when it comes to pruning. You always have to leve a stub above the live section or it will die back. In this case you might have cut back too far and the wole top died back. Never cut back past the last live bud or leaf node on a branch unless you want to kill it. I always leave a stub about 1/2-1” long above a leaf node.

Jwalsh

Seed
Reaction score
BRT can be finickly when it comes to pruning. You always have to leve a stub above the live section or it will die back. In this case you might have cut back too far and the wole top died back. Never cut back past the last live bud or leaf node on a branch unless you want to kill it. I always leave a stub about 1/2-1” long above a leaf node.
Ok thank you. Do you have any suggestions on how to move forward?

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Because the upper part of the trunk has died, you will need to develop a new trunk line and apex. Trim away most of the dead upper trunk, leaving a stub for now (you will eventually remove it all in a year or so once the tree is stronger). Take your uppermost branch and wire it upwards - giving it some gradual bends along the way so that it doesn't look chopstick straight. Let it grow strong, and when you prune, prune to develop ramification versus letting the branches shoot straight out.

leatherback

The Treedeemer
Reaction score
USDA Zone