Brazilian Raintree leaves turning yellow, dying, & dropping

Rosamond

Seed
Reaction score
Hi, I'm brand new here, but it seems like a great forum full of knowledgable people. I'm also brand new to bonsai. :/ I got this Brazilian Raintree in May (5 months ago) and it looked pretty good for awhile, dropping leaves and growing them back, etc. But now the leaves are turning yellow, then brown, then dropping off in large numbers. I can't see any clear sign of new buds with leaves ready to grow.

I water once or twice a week, whenever the tree looks a little wilty during the day. I haven't fertilized it or repotted it since we got it. It sits in a fairly sunny spot in the house, but doesn't have any artificial light. It was sold as an indoor bonsai, but based on some reading here, I understand maybe that's not true. I live in Pennsylvania, and the weather is about to get chilly--highs in the 50s this weekend, and downhill from there. I do have an unheated greenhouse if that would be helpful, but it still gets pretty cold in there in winter. I'd rather keep it indoors if possible, but not if that's going to kill it.

Can anyone tell me why it looks like this, and/or how to help it? Thanks!!
IMG_7344.JPGIMG_7344.JPGIMG_7346.JPGIMG_7345.JPGIMG_7347.JPG

Petebak

Mame
Reaction score
I have a few of these that are indoors all year around and all thriving so being indoors is not the issue, when you say "fairly sunny spot" what do you mean? which direction is the windows facing? Also, depending on the soil condition underneath the surface you may be over-watering it. These trees are more drought tolerant that most people believe, so it's better to water less and look for signs than just water it twice a week.

JudyB

Queen of the Nuts
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a