Brazilian Raintree nutrient deficiency

aaronward

Seed
Reaction score
I'm a beginner & got a Brazilian Rain Tree couple of months ago. Growth is really vigorous & the plant is my balcony with indirect sunlight (through shade net as direct sunlight may scorch the leaves due to the tropic climate). I've been feeding NPK fertilizer once 15 days & water whenever soil is about to dry. Despite all, the new growth seems to have some kind of nutrient deficiency where the veins are visible which I suspect might be due to Iron Chlorosis... Since I'm new to BRT, any suggestion/solution from experts or anyone who has faced this would be really valuable. Thank you in advance

aaronward

Seed
Reaction score
Here are the images

Attachments

• IMG_20230219_135237.jpg
    IMG_20230219_135237.jpg
    116.8 KB · Views: 18
  • IMG_20230219_135245.jpg
    IMG_20230219_135245.jpg
    117.9 KB · Views: 17

SWfloirda

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
Those leaves look normal to me. I keep my BRTs in full sun here in Florida, they’re tropical trees they can take full sun.

LittleDingus

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Read the label on your fertilizer and see if it includes trace minerals. Many do not.

You're looking for things like molybdenum, manganese, zinc plus many others...but if you see those 3 it has them.

If you are growing in pure non-organic soil, you'll want to use a fertilizer with the trace elements. Iron and manganese in particular help plants manufacture chlorophyl.

Epsom salts are a good supplement if you current fertilizer is missing trace elements. Just remember "trace elements". You don't need much.

trigo

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a