Brazilian Raintree Potting Medium Ratios.

tmj6878

Seedling
Reaction score
I am new to the art of Bonsais and I have three small Brazilian Raintrees that need to be repotted in the best soil mixture. I would like to know each compound recommended for the mixture along with exact ratios for each component to have the healthiest BRT and encourage the most growth. Also I plan to get an old Brazilian raintree 35+ years old and want to know if it will require the same soil mix and ratios. I water them daily in Tampa, FL in indirect sunlight on my porch and fertilize with 20/20/20 once a week. Should I put it in the yard in direct light all day? Also please let me know any other recommendations if any.

Last edited:

leatherback

The Treedeemer
Reaction score
USDA Zone
As my brt is still having a hard time, curious to hear the outcome of this. @Clicio in Brazil these are in very organic rich mixtures right?

choppychoppy

Chumono
Reaction score
I am new to the art of Bonsais and I have three small Brazilian Raintrees that need to be repotted in the best soil mixture. I would like to know each compound recommended for the mixture along with exact ratios for each component to gave the healthiest BRT and encourage the most growth Also I plan to get an old Brazilian raintree 35+ years old and want to know if it will require the same soil mix and ratios. I water them daily in Tampa, FL in indirect sunlight on my porch and fertilize with 20/20/20 once a week. Let me know any other recommendations if any.

I use the same soil on BRT as everything else. They're not picky. They would prefer a lot more sun. Let em grow and prune. Don't defoliate.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to Crazy!

Why do they need to be repotted?

Sorce

Paul G

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I use the same soil on BRT as everything else. They're not picky. They would prefer a lot more sun. Let em grow and prune. Don't defoliate.