Bristlecone Pine

Vance Wood

Lord Mugo
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5-6
Anyone who knows me is aware that I have been asking questions about Bristlecone Pines for many years. One of my questions is why are there none being shown that have been collected from the wild. I have posted a Bristlecone that is growing on the grounds of the Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs on the walking path between the visitors center and the College campus. It is a natural tree and has not been planted. There were many others in the environment but this one was less than two foot tall, well within the range of reasonable harvesting.

The question remains why is no one harvesting these trees. It is not like there are none out there; this photo proves their availability. Until this year I did not realize how accessible this tree can be, it's not like they are hidden away in the clouds and mountain ridges. The really good and really old ones are around 10,000' to 12,000' but there are a lot more of them than most people realize.

Attachments

• DSC_3821.jpg
    DSC_3821.jpg
    209.7 KB · Views: 465

dick benbow

Omono
Reaction score
They're on my search list. Recently I've downsized the home I raised my family in to a tiny lot in a gated community. Most of my collection had to go but I've turned to american trees
as my new interest.
The last three years I have been working with whitebark. Feeling comfortable with limber,
shore pine and lodgepole.
I've done some checking with folks in the club that have them ( all nursery no yamadori)
and find their needle replacement schedule of every 7 (instead of 3) years an interesting challenge.
I'd love to learn more about them and feel they'd make an excellent collection addition.

I found a nursery one dying that I cut off 2/3rds of it's top and put in the ground to reciver.
It's been two years and the blue color cast is coming back and the white sap becoming more prevelent. I need to dig it before I move.....