Brown spots and sticky leaves

Saywhatscotty

Seedling
Reaction score
I'm new to bonsai and have a ficus. Was growing strong for the first month or so. Then leaves started to be misshapen and some sticky residue. I applied a dawn soap treatment based on aphid suggestions I'd read. I am now seeing brown spots and burnt looking spots. I've removed the worst of them and the tree is growing some small leaves. Does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks.20200829_132000.jpg20200829_132016.jpg20200829_132023.jpg

JudyB

Queen of the Nuts
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Sticky usually means scale or aphids. You have to re-apply if the infestation was bad, to get the whole cycle of the bugs.

Saywhatscotty

Seedling
Reaction score
Sticky usually means scale or aphids. You have to re-apply if the infestation was bad, to get the whole cycle of the bugs.
Thanks. The stickiness has lessened with the soap treatments, but the browning and spots started after. Not sure if there is something else I should do or just wait it out.

BonsaiDTLA

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Keep a close eye on it and don't be too hasten to make many moves unless you are positive. It's good to act quickly, but you don't want to overdo it and do more harm than good.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Do you keep it in your car? Just asking because it looks like the pics are in a car.

Saywhatscotty

Seedling
Reaction score
Do you keep it in your car? Just asking because it looks like the pics are in a car.
No. It's sitting on our kitchen stove. Bit It's removed when cooking, lol. I also didn't realize it needed fertilizing weekly so maybe that is part of the issue?

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a