Brown Spots on Trident Leaves

sbap

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
Hello All,

I am a newbie and have collected a few nursery stock junipers to practice working on - and after a couple of trips to Fuji Bonsai Nursery in Sylmar I found myself walking out with some elm trees and a trident maple.

I repotted the maple back in February and it has been doing just fine since, but over the last couple of weeks I've noted that the leaves are getting brown spots and some of the new leaves are turning dark at the tips.

I've kept it in full sun this spring as I was hoping the March/April sun wouldn't yet be too much for it, and I see to it that it is watered each day. I'm a few miles inland from the coastline here in San Diego, so the Santa Ana winds (dry/hot winds) don't too often reach me...

Could these spots be a fungus, or did I harm the tree by giving it too much sun?

Any advice or information is appreciated - Thanks!

20220424_134828.jpg20220424_134838.jpg

mikeTF

Seedling
Reaction score
There could be a few issues.
One: could be the time you are watering. The droplets act as magnifying glasses and burn leaves.
Two: Was it in leaf when you repotted? Did you give it shade for a week or two until it established?
Three: possible phoma, if so it is for the life of the tree.

Kodama

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5B
One: could be the time you are watering. The droplets act as magnifying glasses and burn leaves.
Hmmm.. I've read several things that suggest this is a myth? If true, wouldn't all trees in nature be leaf burnt after a rain, etc? Curious minds want to know.

mikeTF

Seedling
Reaction score