BRT please help

sjoh197

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Hi everyone.
I am really new to bonsai. Someone got me a Brazilian Rain Tree as a gift, knowing that I miss my gardening and plant care, now that I've moved to a tiny apartment in a big city.
Unfortunately, I don't have outdoor space which is why this person got me an "indoor bonsai". I know that this tree would have done better outside, and I have done as much research as I can to try to help it live inside until such a time when I can get an outdoor space for it.

I've had it for a few months now, and it was doing really well. I was watering it every other day, letting the soil get a tad dry, but not completely. It gets 6 hours of direct sunlight from a large window, with the rest of the day being indirect sun. I have a grow lamp over it that goes on after the full sun is over to help supplement the indirect light for the rest of the day. It has about 60% humidity, although I've been trying to increase it.

It has suddenly started looking not so great. The leaves are turning yellow and falling off. In fact, the tree itself is starting to look kind of yellowish in general. It still has a lot of green on it, but I don't want this trend to continue. Any advice. I tried taking pictures... hopefully they help.

Attachments

• WP_20160609_08_36_07_Pro.jpg
    WP_20160609_08_36_07_Pro.jpg
    266.9 KB · Views: 76
  • WP_20160609_08_37_09_Pro.jpg
    WP_20160609_08_37_09_Pro.jpg
    254.4 KB · Views: 78
  • WP_20160609_08_37_57_Pro.jpg
    WP_20160609_08_37_57_Pro.jpg
    264.4 KB · Views: 79
  • WP_20160609_08_41_17_Pro.jpg
    WP_20160609_08_41_17_Pro.jpg
    207.3 KB · Views: 84

sjoh197

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
I live in Houston... so I know that it will do really well outside... however, I won't be somewhere were I can put it outside until August. Then I will have a nice balcony to set it on. But I need to keep it alive until then :)

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone