Bud Swelling on Conifers

Gr8tfuldad

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Hello All! Most of my horticulture experience with trees centers around deciduous. I am fairly new to bonsai and conifers. It is my understanding that you want to repot/root work conifers similar to deciduous at bud swell. Does anyone have a photo example of what optimum time looks like on conifers? Specifically pine, but I welcome others too 😀 Thank you!!!

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
Not a picture, but if I say they start to shine in a metallic color, that's when they're about to get going.
Right now they should be a bit dull, covered in resin, some white here and there.
If temps rise, they change color and they fatten compared to how they looked all winter.

But the process is slow initially. So it's a timeframe of weeks, not days. And being a little early or late doesn't hurt them at all.

Gr8tfuldad

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Not a picture, but if I say they start to shine in a metallic color, that's when they're about to get going.
Right now they should be a bit dull, covered in resin, some white here and there.
If temps rise, they change color and they fatten compared to how they looked all winter.

But the process is slow initially. So it's a timeframe of weeks, not days. And being a little early or late doesn't hurt them at all.
Thank you for a heads up on what to keep an eye out for as the season progresses. I’m going to take a picture tomorrow and use it as a point of comparison.

Dav4

Drop Branch Murphy
Reaction score
SE MI- Bonsai'd for 12 years both MA and N GA
USDA Zone
6a
Another way to tell it's time to re-pot your pines is when you're done with your deciduous trees ;) . After that, do your junipers and that's a wrap! (unless you keep tropicals)

Gr8tfuldad

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b