Bugs and fungus

Fidur

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I'm a beginner in his second spring.
When I begun I made some months of reading (thanks internet). I decided then to use only akadama and lava for my soils ( where I live, we are frostfree and akadama is easily avalaible).
Also, as my tap water is not any good, decided to use only collected rain water. I've fertilized with whatever I've found avalaible .

At first I was expecting as bugs and fungus as I could see in my garden plants. But to my surprise I only could see some (white fly, aphids, and a lot more I don´t know how to translate) but only a fraction of those in the garden. As soon as I saw them I killed them (mechanically or with a systemic). In this second spring there are even less than in the first and no fungus have appeared (my roses and others have oidium, roya,...).
Now I'm talking about +50 trees, evergreens, temperates, tropicals, ...

I try to understand what makes my trees less prone to infestations. I know I'm always watching my trees and looking for any problem, and that can be a good reason.
But I also think that my trees are helthier than the mean I observe here.
So maybe my soils and good watering could also have a rol.

What is your experience and thoughts?

PD: Some of my trees

- IMG_20220501_133705.jpg

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
The healthier the better for fending off bugs and fungus however health alone will probably not prevent insects and fungus attacking your trees.

Learning what bugs and fungus are prevalent in your area is the first line of defense. This will come with time as you keep trees, youll see things that tend to appear every year. Once you figure out what issues your area and trees are prone to, doing things to prevent an infestation in the first place is key when you can.