Building trees with @KiwiPlantGuy

Smoke

Ignore-Amus
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi Smoke,
I am thinking that your method looks doable, with 2 plus flushes of growth per year. But with the OP’s climate he might not get a second flush. Or maybe he could/should with heaps of fertilizer. As you said tho, he should try different methods to learn what works for him.
As for your method and ramification vs growing primary branches first? Talking about deciduous trees, can you explain a bit further for the novice here about the overall system?
I understand the growing trunks first, but do I use your method to grow everything after the trunk sections, or is it only a secondary and tertiary branch method?
Sorry for the questions, as I can’t buy pre-bonsai material to work with.
The photo below is the closest I have to building a tree from. I am chopping most of the top off then how does one move forward?

View attachment 245599
Charles
Seen no need to screw up further the other guys thread.
Hi Charles, but Whoa, Whoa, back the pony up!

I never said this was an alternative to primary branches. What I do to maples is mostly after the tree is done or almost done and one could call "refinement technique".

What you are asking is all over the place about building a tree.

We are talking:
Trunk Building
Branch Building
Internode management
And refinement.

I have not included nebari here because that is something that you only get one shot at for the year and most of it takes place in the pot anyway so it can be done while building the top of the tree.

TRUNKS
Anyone remember Ripsgreentree? The guy where I earned my reputation fighting with on a daily basis back on BonsaiTALK. The forum called us Itchy and Scratchy. Well what everyone didn't know was that we are best friends. Glenn Vanwinkle has had a lot of health issues over the last four years and is doing better.

DSC_00450030.JPG 001.JPG DSC_00500001.JPG