burtt davyi ficus help

remist17

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
I have been growing a burtt davyi ficus for 3 years now. The ficus is about 13" tall and is in a 8" pot. Every year the plant seems to not do as well during the winter monts. So this year I put up 3 four foot T8 dual light fixtures and put in cool white and sunshine bulbs. The lights are on about 12 hours a day The light is about 4 to 6" from the bulb. The plant remains to look sickly. The top part of the fisus has lost all of its leaves and just the first branch has leaves and fruit. I water the plant only when it gets dry (usually every 4 days). Iinspected the roots about 2 weeks ago and did some pruning as the roots were a little bond in the bond but not bad. I fertilze every other week with liquid miracle grow 1 tbs to gallon of water. I also mist the plants every night.

The ficus will push some leaves, they come out, then turn yellow and fall off. The only part of the tree that seems to be doing well is the first large branch which maintains the leaf structure and even puts out fruit.

What am I doing wrong?

GrimLore

Bonsai Nut alumnus... we miss you
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
To much water would be my honest opinion - all of our ficus come in every fall and they get light, air, and a minimal amount of water and no fert til spring. They "almost all" drop every leaf when moved in - NORMAL. We do mist them but cut way back on the water. During the Winter they regrow all the leaves and it is a SLOW process. We take them out and they drop them all and get HAPPY again!. They seem to like the misting more then water during the Winter. As we live in the same state I would think that yours will act the same. Perkasie Pa here.

remist17

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B