Buxus Harlandii

Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi all,

Im new to the Buxus type of tree, coming from elms but thought i would try something new.

Here is the little tree i bought, Any Tips, Ideas on styling etc im open for your input :)

Thank you

Attachments

• IMG_20200316_152515740.jpg
    IMG_20200316_152515740.jpg
    241.3 KB · Views: 95

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Buxus harlandii seems to be very tough. Juts treat it like your elms and it should grow well. I haven't tried pruning back to bare wood but when pruned hard leaving some green they bud all over the trunk.
The corky bark is a real feature of this species. Small leaves really suits shohin sized bonsai and the trunk thickens up with good taper an basal flare.
I've only root pruned in spring but there has been no problem with removing plenty of roots. Easy to strike as cuttings too.

Hard to give you much advice for styling this one when I can only see one side of the tree. What does it look like from the other side? Can that rear branch be used as a first branch? Otherwise use that lower branch as a sacrifice to thicken the lower trunk a bit more while developing the tree from the upper branches.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
If you plan on using the first branch, I'd clear what's around it.

Seems a tough decision, since that one branch wants to reach out to that root like a dancer reaching out to her toe. (Yeah her cuz who wants to picture a dude in a leotard?)

That could be a pretty sensual design, but it forces you into the human perspective and loses a lot of "tree".

I'd cut the flowers off cuz they are uglier later than they are pretty now.

Sorce

Rid

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Buxus harlandii seems to be very tough. Juts treat it like your elms and it should grow well. I haven't tried pruning back to bare wood but when pruned hard leaving some green they bud all over the trunk.