Buyer Beware...Eastern Leaf Bonsai

BobbyLane

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
I have found a few rusty wires in my Chinese elm.
so did i when i was a newbie. shit happens
your little 'mallsai' C elm is mass produced in china and marketed to people just getting into the hobby, sometimes they forget and leave bits of wire in the tree.
keep searching, sometimes you find a gem with a decent nebari and bones to work on. i wouldnt cry a river about it, get more trees.

BobbyLane

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
These are typical mallsai from my first two years in the hobby, from homeware stores, similar to your homedepot.
these imo are what i would call gems and these could be trained into fairly decent broom style trees...but it takes time to develop an eye. i bought so much crap in the beginning. ive been through all the S shapes with wire marks, horrendous roots, bits of rusty wire. i didnt moan i got on with it.

some of these guys are opening an account just to have a moan and will probably never be seen again.

ps but prove me wrong if you like.
now that you have a better idea of what a fairly decent mallsai could look like, i dare you to find one.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20210708-152126_Facebook.jpg
    Screenshot_20210708-152126_Facebook.jpg
    124.3 KB · Views: 69
  • Screenshot_20210708-152136_Facebook.jpg
    Screenshot_20210708-152136_Facebook.jpg
    146.6 KB · Views: 65
  • Screenshot_20210708-152113_Facebook.jpg
    Screenshot_20210708-152113_Facebook.jpg
    98.5 KB · Views: 66
  • Screenshot_20210708-152105_Facebook.jpg
    Screenshot_20210708-152105_Facebook.jpg
    151 KB · Views: 71
Last edited:

hinmo24t

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7A
Yes....

This is quite like me buying a bunch of tools from harbor freight....

And complaining about their shittyness.

Or Going to Mcdonalds, and getting mad cuz there is no Steak on the menu.

Or expecting Egyptian Cotton in Wal-Mart.

Or bewildered by your itch after paying a meth whore.

Sorce