calling all hort nerds--soil acidifier?

crhabq

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I'm pretty new to bonsai, I started last summer. When I saw that many of my trees were getting leaf burn last summer, I went to a local garden nursery to ask about this. The guy at the nursery thought this was probably salt buildup in the soil due to the calcium levels in our tap water. He suggested a soil acidifier w/ iron. I used it a few times last summer without noticing any ill-effects (not a lot of positive ones, but hey, the damage as already done). Here is a link to the water analysis for my area http://www.abcwua.org/files/waterquality/datatables-2008/zone12.htlm. The product was ferti loam soil acidifier with iron. Would an acid lover fert work just as well or better? The leaf burn was mostly on the japanese maples and the linden trees that I had last summer. This could be due to high heat and winds. Will soil acidification help mitigate high heat/winds? Thanks for your help.

Ray

Last edited:

Smoke

Ignore-Amus
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Being in New Mexico in summer is probably an aweful lot like what I have here in the central valley, California. Weeks at a time the temps will be 107 or more. Here we keep maples and most other diciduous trees under 70 percent shade cloth and use a product called Cloud-Cover to keep the leaves from turning brown on the edges. The Cloud-Cover will keep the leaves from transpiring faster than they can draw up moisture.

Hope that helps, Al

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
I agree with Al. I get leaf burn on my maples if I'm not really careful. Shade cloth is the only way to go. (Or at least the only thing I have found to make a difference) I will have to check out the "Cloud Cover" product.