Can I use cedar granules for pests in bonsai soil?

J.joye

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I am brand new to bonsai. But I have been raising some silver maples for about two years now. And I understand that silver maples are not good bonsai material but my plan is to take for braid the trunk and then make a big foliage bowl at the top. It would be between 4 to 6 feet high in a 15 gallon pot. Which brings me to my question: could I use cedar granules in place of pine chips in the soil in order to keep pests away naturally? Killing two birds with one stone. Also I know with that many trees it would probably be a heavy feeder. If anyone has advice on soil and feeding that would be awesome.

Attachments

• 9CC83102-599E-43D2-8CC5-3C1E98950102.jpeg
    9CC83102-599E-43D2-8CC5-3C1E98950102.jpeg
    237.4 KB · Views: 12

Japonicus

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
As long as it is not the sum total, but Used as one of the components, it’s just bark.
Cedar is resistant to termites, but it won’t keep termites out, they just won’t eat it.
In short yes you can use it without harm to your plant or tree, but don’t expect to not have
pests.

How are you using the cedar? It appears in the attached picture, that you’ve covered
the surface. What pests are you concerned about that this application may be effective?

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
You are covering a lot of subject areas in one post. Let's start with the primary question - can you use cedar granules for pests in bonsai soil?