Canada/cold winter tips please

RonVachyier

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b?
Hello,

I am new to the world of bonsai and have been doing quite a bit of reading and looking around. I haven't found much information however on how people interested in bonsai deal with cold climates as everyone seems to agree that trees need to live outside.

I live in Quebec where the climate will range from 95F in the summer to -4F in the winter. Leaving a tree outdoors in winter is therefore impossible for any of the species that interest me, and the summer here where temperatures do not get too chilly at night is from around the end of June to mid september at the latest.

I have a particular interest in Olive trees, my family in Europe having grown them for sustinance, and I would greatly enjoy finding a way to grow a healthy one in my area. Any tips as to how I can deal with this climate would be greatly appreciated.

RonVachyier

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b?
Your winters aren't that bad for hardy bonsai. Olives will require indoor lighting set-ups for overwintering and will still be hard to keep.

For the basics of overwintering temperate zone species:

http://www.evergreengardenworks.com/overwint.htm

I was expecting difficulty. I have a cool place for winter, and I have indoor lighting for the spring and fall, however for my winter location I will have to look into that. :( Hoping I don't have to give up my fondness for olive short of moving towards the south!

sfhellwig

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a