candle pruning

robert gardner

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hello fellow bonsai people,
I have just received a Pinus contorta Willow Creek Lodgepole pine. The candles are getting long now, the major ones are about 1-1/2 inches long. I need to know if its ok to candle prune them. All my conifers are still in the dormant stages as we are still in 40 degree weather. I don't want to hurt this new Bonsai, but would like to control future growth. This tree has a 1 inch diameter trunk and is about 10 inches tall. Any help will be greatly appreciated. This is my first try with a lodgepole pine, so don't hurt me.

robert gardner

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Brian, thanks for the great reply just wasn't sure what to do so thanks for the helpful advice. I do have another question.
Would it be alright to do some needle plucking in the area that I want to start wiring, wanting to give this tree some movement.
It has some started but it needs a little more to help in its future stages. If I could figure how to put pictures in this message
I would like to as I am sure it would help in making decisions. This tree is very flexible right now so adding more movement won't
be any problem. Just need more help on needle plucking.

Brian Van Fleet

Pretty Fly for a Bonsai Guy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
It sounds small by your description, so I’d try to avoid removing needles if you can.

Adair M

Pinus Envy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
This is not really a good time to be wiring pines unless you’re very good. The new growth is fragile, and it’s eady to damage the new growth when wiring. Wait until fall.

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
If you check the bottom of the reply box on the left side you will see the ( attach files) button.
Alternatively, @robert gardner, is to click the 'Insert Image' icon or type ctrl+p InsertImage.png
Then simply drag your photo and drop it on the drop down OR click and find you photo in you devices files. InsertImage.png