Carolina sapphire cypress pre-bonsai

scarriedoc

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
0817191739c.jpg
I know that Carolina Sapphire Cypress (tag said Cupressus Arizonica) is not a typical tree to work on in bonsai, but I love the color and the leaf structure so I thought I would give it a try. I am a total newbie and so I would like some styling advice. I am going to let the trunk get larger by either putting in the ground, or slip potting it for another couple years. I was also wondering whether ramification will even be possible on this type of cypress since the leaf scales seem fairly long. Any other advice at this point as far as wiring and initial styling is appreciated at this point. Thanks.

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Keep us up to date on this one. It is a tree I really love and would love to see what you do with it.

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b
All that I know about Arizona Cypress, is "internet knowledge", I have never grown one. I know the Mendocino Cypress, a related Cupressus species, have been successfully used as bonsai. Look for photos in archives of Golden State Bonsai Newsletters. They turn up here and there. Photos look pretty good, superficially similar in general appearance to Shimpaku, usually without much deadwood in the design.

Your tree needs to grow and develop character. Your trunk and largest branches are arrow straight, linear. They need to be wired to put movement into them. BUT before you do so, you need to think about style, what is your model you would like to shape this tree toward? Other questions:

How tall do you want this tree to be?
How wide?