Cedar - New Leader

one_bonsai

Shohin
Reaction score
I have this cedar which I'm field growing. I want to get some movement into the trunk, so intend to choose a new leader and wire it at an angle. Should I leave the main trunk growing above the new leader to help thicken the trunk or should I remove it?

Polish_20191230_135402015.jpg

Attachments

• Polish_20191230_135402015.jpg
    Polish_20191230_135402015.jpg
    265.5 KB · Views: 1

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I am not an expert here but it seems you would have to remove it, otherwise the apical dominance of the central leader will control the plants growth.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
You can leave the current leader for a while but the lower parts will only grow very slowly and may even start to weaken. At the first sign of any weakness in the parts you want to keep the sacrifice must be removed. Using a lower branch as a sacrifice branch will give better results and also thicken the base of the trunk more than the top which is good. you have plenty of low branches so I'd probably be inclined to prune now to save any problems. Pick one or more low branches and let those grow unpruned for a couple of years to achieve thickening.

one_bonsai

Shohin
Reaction score
Using a lower branch as a sacrifice branch will give better results and also thicken the base of the trunk more than the top which is good. you have plenty of low branches so I'd probably be inclined to prune now to save any problems. Pick one or more low branches and let those grow unpruned for a couple of years to achieve thickening.

So something like this;

Polish_20191230_170209010.jpg

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
It is not really possible to give good advice from just a photo but I suspect your new virt is close to my thoughts.