Cheap Bonsai Soil Mix?

SilentMouse

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
So, as previously stated I am new to bonsai. Thus far, I've been able to use commercial, pre-mixed bonsai soil for my couple of trees but as I have acquired a good handful more this spring...it looks like, next time around a few bags of the already made stuff isn't gonna cut it. My hope is to make my own for next spring and I am looking for some of what everyone else is doing that isn't super expensive and also not containing anything I can't find around me locally (at places like a local gardening centre, Home Depot/Lowes etc).

I know perlite is gonna be one- I've looked up a few suggestions so far and ALL of them have the stuff. Not to mention it is something I use in my regular house plant containers and notice in the pre-made bonsai mix I used this spring. Also aware that all these things will have to be shifted to get rid of the smaller, fine particles :).

But other than that, any soil mixes or suggestions that won't break the bank? Any suggestions would be awesome!

DonovanC

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I use the Nigel Saunders 50/50 sifted perlite and turface mix. As you know, perlite is easy to come by, but the turface isn’t always that easy to find. I get mine from Tracker Supply Company under the brand name Safe T Sorb. If you don’t have a TSC in your area, then a quick google search for Safe T Sorb should point you in the right direction. I get a large bag of perlite for $16US and a 40lb bag of Safe T Sorb for $6 and I usually throw about 25% organic compost which is like $3 - so I spend around $25 for a huge tub of perfectly suitable bonsai soil and that lasts me through the season and into the next.