Chinese Bird Plum Problems

Goleh

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello everyone! Im new to Bonsai Nut and new to the world of Bonsai.

I have a Chinese Bird Plum (Sageretia Theezan) bonsai. Ive had it for a couple months now and I have noticed a couple of possible problems. Firstly, when I brought home my bonsai, the leaves were turning yellow or burning from the tip and falling off one by one. I knew that it was probably getting used to the new environment (my living room window). But a couple of months have gone by now, and my bonsai is still losing its leaves. I should mention that there are a lot of new growths and that only the older leaves are falling off. In addition to the leaves falling, the trunk has a lot of green mold or something spreading all over and it, and has also developed spots where it is orange and stripy. Is this something i should be concerned about, or should i just try to clean off the gritty green stuff with a brush? And my last concern has to do with the roots of my bonsai, they are visibly coming out of the bottom of the pot and dying. I’m thinking I will need to repot my bonsai soon so I can cut off the rotting roots.

I also noticed some spider mites and flies in the soil, but I believe that was due to overwatering every 2 days. Now I water my bonsai every 4 to 5 days and those bugs have disappeared mostly .

I don't give it anything but water, so could all of these problems be because I don't feed it?

I'll attach a couple of images, I would really appreciate it if you guys could give me some advice!

photo 1-4.JPG photo 1-6.JPG photo 2-6.JPG photo 4.JPG photo 5.JPG photo-3.JPG

Last edited:

Goleh

Seedling
Reaction score
Just found a centipede in my soil. Does that mean I definitely need to change the soil?

BonsaiDan

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a