Chinese Elm feels loose in pot? (pictures)

HairyOtter

Seed
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I'm pretty new to caring for my bonsai tree (got it about 7 months ago from an online seller) and I'm happy to have been able to keep it alive for this long!

The tree seems mostly healthy and has continued to grow/stay green. I did notice, however, that the tree is a little loose in the pot - like the roots are not very strong. Is there anything I can do to improve this? I have some organic fertilizer pellets that I was going to put in around the roots, but not sure if that will help. I am, after all, very new to this. The bag says to put 1tsp per 6 square inches and the post is 5.5/4" so I was just going to use 3tsp.

I've included some pictures of the base of the tree (from both sides) as well as the whole tree (a pretty dark picture - it was either too bright or too dark). Thank you, and happy caring!

Attachments

• IMG_5817.JPG
    IMG_5817.JPG
    105.8 KB · Views: 32
  • IMG_5816.JPG
    IMG_5816.JPG
    198.9 KB · Views: 34
  • IMG_5815.JPG
    IMG_5815.JPG
    193 KB · Views: 31

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Being new to this, are you sure that it is wired into the pot? It should be.

Assuming that it is, you can dig around in the substrate with your finger and find the twisted ends on the wires atop the roots. You can tighten these to the point that the tree doesn't wobble. Grab the twisted ends with pliers, pull up, then twist to take up the slack. Once done, move the substrate back into place (and you are done).

Clicio

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
11a
I could see some wire by the base of the trunk, but it's difficult to determine if it's part of a ground layer or the wire used to fix the roots to the pot or else.

HairyOtter

Seed
Reaction score