Chinese Elm First Steps: The Leader

Reaction score
Hi all.

I dug up a few chinese elms from my woods a few months ago. They are doing pretty well.

This one in particular I’m excited about because it has a nice taper and gentle movement. It doesn’t have the biggest trunk in the world but it’s still a decent thickness:
83B299E8-2B52-4EBD-B7D2-61F6FB0DF8C8.jpeg

When it grows out a bit more, I’m going to start looking at next steps in styling. I’m looking to create an informal upright style.

I’m just not quite sure what direction I should wire my new leader. Should I use the shoot on the right side of the upper trunk or the left side as my new leader? Should I cut back the top more (and if so, should I cut the slant in the opposite direction)? What direction should I wire it to maintain the best flow? I’m still relatively new to the hobby so imagining what my tree will look like 5 years from now is a little difficult for me.

Thanks for the help!

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Classic informal upright styling has the trunk moving left and right (as well as front to back for depth)
The stronger leader is taking the existing trunk further to the left.
The smaller one below will take the trunk back to the right which would be more classic BUT the trunk movement is so subtle that moving right there is likely to make the trunk appear almost straight.
With just a quick assessment and only having a single 2D view of the tree I would probably go with the stronger left leader to give a bit more trunk movement before sweeping back to the right, back or maybe forwards?

To me it is far too early to be making styling decisions on a tree that has only just been dug. I understand the urges to do something or at least plan but better bonsai come from patience.