Chinese Elm losing leaves with brown tips

oddalle

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5B
Hi! I'm very new to bonsai. I just received a 10-year-old Chinese Elm two weeks ago. I was worried that the shipping would hurt the tree since it took a week to get to me due to delivery delays; I was worried about under watering and potentially dried-out roots. But when I received it, the bonsai still had moisture in the soil and everything looked good at first. I may have been over watering the first few days (I watered it every night), but then I started to notice leaf tips turning brown and falling off of both old and new shoots (it's surprised me by having a lot of new growth despite having dying leaves). I got a moisture meter and checked the soil more often and have now been watering every 2-3 days. It does sit in indirect sunlight everyday (pictures show the lighting). Leaf tips are still browning and falling. I've attached pictures.

Yesterday I cut off some of the new growth since it was getting a bit crazy looking with new shoots growing larger leaves and I also added fertilizer for the first time hoping that might help. I'm not sure if there's just stress from being in a new environment or what I can do to help it if something's wrong, so any insight is greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• chineseelm1.jpg
    chineseelm1.jpg
    92.5 KB · Views: 23
  • chineseelm2.jpg
    chineseelm2.jpg
    76.3 KB · Views: 26
  • chineseelm3.jpg
    chineseelm3.jpg
    141.2 KB · Views: 23
  • chineseelm4.jpg
    chineseelm4.jpg
    66.8 KB · Views: 22

Housguy

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
Is the tree living indoors? If so, that is where your problem mostly lies unless you have a very nice lighting setup, very hard to keep these trees alive indoors, get outdoors asap, should turn around.

oddalle

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5B