Chinese Elm - managing dormancy

DrDealgood

Seed
Reaction score
Hey All,

Excited to find this resource. Though I've been a gardener for a long time bonsai is a relatively new arc for me.

I have a ~15 year old Chinese elm. I had been keeping it outside since I got it a couple months ago. However, due to life at large I have relocated to a city. I sold some of my trees and have others at a friends house that can't come inside. I have the elm with me but due to my transition timing it has started to move into dormancy i.e. Fall color and minor leaf drop. My question is can I pull it out of dormancy back into green/veg mode or would I be better off winterizing it at a friends house with my other dedicated outdoor trees? Would forcing it back to green tax the roots too much and result on longer term care issues?

jk_lewis

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7-8
Would forcing it back to green tax the roots too much and result on longer term care issues?

Are you figuring on permanent life indoors, or just for this winter?

Permanently keeping this tree indoors will "result in longer-term care issues." It probably won't mind a winter indoors, and if it is otherwise healthy, you won't have to "force" it back to greenness.

lackhand

Yamadori
Reaction score
Where are you at? I live in Phoenix and the Chinese elms here usually don't lose all their leaves, though it seems to vary depending on the tree. Some will lose almost all, and some don't seem to lose any. So I don't think Chinese elms really need much of a dormant period.

The bigger issue is probably having it indoors, as jkl mentioned. Low light and low humidity make it not the best situation for the tree long term. If you can get it outside even for a few hours a day, or invest in some grow lights, your tree will be much happier. Good luck!

DrDealgood

Seed
Reaction score