Chinese Elm Root Over Rock help

AaronThomas

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
Hello all!
About a week ago I started what is my first attempt at a Chinese Elm root over rock after being totally inspired by Pauls "Root over Ruin", post. I also read the "bonsai4me", "bonsaiforbeginners" etc. web pages. (I'm under no delusion that I am now an expert on the subject :) but ya gotta start somewhere) The tree is approx. 3 to 4 years old and was re potted in a 10" training pot using a soil composed of 40% organics, 30% decomposed granite, 20% pumice, and 10% course sand and set in a shaded somewhat dappled area in my yard. I root pruned the tree trying to save as much of the roots as possible before attaching the tree to the piece of granite.... I however did not trim back the top growth... the reason I didn't was because I kept finding posts online that said it wasn't totally necessary to do so... well this morning (being a week later) I have noticed the few leaves the tree had are starting to wither so in a panic I decided to cut back the top growth. Its early spring here in Tucson and my other Chinese Elm has exploded with new growth.... I expected the tree to be in a bit of shock but I'm wondering if there is anything I can do to help the recovery other than to just leave it be. The tree had some leaves and was starting to bud... did I do this too late in early spring? If I haven't confused anybody....any info would be wonderful!!!
Thanks in advance! Pics coming...

Last edited:

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
If the tree was already in leaf, you have removed its ability to sustain growth --which means the leaves that have emerged will probably all die off, depending upon how much root was removed. Root pruning is done BEFORE the leaves emerge.

You misinterpreted the articles, I think.