Chinese juniper problems

MiguelMC

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10b
Hello everyone!
So I'm still fairly new to bonsai and so far I have been mainly working on deciduous trees so my experience with conifers has been quite null, I've been trying to research and learn as much as I can but one thing is studying the other is working on actual trees.
2 days ago, I saw a decent looking juniper on the opportunities bin on a nearby nursery and decided to take a chance on it, the only other real experience I had with a juniper was the one I posted on a thread earlier and in all fairness, it has not been great, but since this juniper came to me already a bit out of shape and since the only thing I was advised to do to it was let it grow, I decided to take a chance on this new one.
Quoting the miss understood Ilidan stormrage, I was not prepared...

I was trying for a semi cascade feel, since It suited the natural shape of the tree, I haven't touched the roots and only did so cleaning and pruning to her(yes its a her and her name is Jessica) I'm afraid I pruned a bit too much.
any suggestions on how to improve it? (other than working on my wiring skills xD)

Like thank you for any feedback all is welcomed

Attachments

• 20190311_194456.jpg
    20190311_194456.jpg
    97.6 KB · Views: 37
  • 20190311_194459.jpg
    20190311_194459.jpg
    102 KB · Views: 39
  • 20190311_194538.jpg
    20190311_194538.jpg
    99.3 KB · Views: 36
  • 20190311_194541.jpg
    20190311_194541.jpg
    97.1 KB · Views: 37
  • 20190311_194551.jpg
    20190311_194551.jpg
    127.8 KB · Views: 34
  • 20190311_194616.jpg
    20190311_194616.jpg
    101.5 KB · Views: 30

Japonicus

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
It's ok, and continue to NOT touch the roots having done much pruning this year.
What season are you in there now?
Not sure where you're going with the, now back facing left branch.
Let it grow on, then only wire come Autumn for most good bending.