Ci’s Little Christmas Tree

cishepard

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I picked these two up at my local Country Grocer. A Skyrocket Juniper which had a tag and some kind of Japanese Holly, I believe (no tag).
For the juniper, I am thinking of a raft design, as most of the branches are on one side. The third photo is the juniper unbound. A forest ‘look’ may suit the cultivars’ upright growth tendency.
The Ilex, I will probably just chop low, make use of a nice trunk bend and branching already there.
I am pretty new to bonsai, and am unclear about timing for things like chops, wiring and repotting in my climate (PacNW), so I wouldn’t mind some advice on this!

2E808052-FDB6-489D-A983-FEEDEE580810.jpegF2C833E4-3F3E-480D-B470-C5457C1B7294.jpeg1CE8568B-B011-435C-BE59-2C17BC77E1DC.jpeg

Warpig

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Nice, really looking forward to that holly. :) If you are still new and learning as you go, I would suggest looking into the care that these will need to pull through the winters for your area. Good luck

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
My experience with Skyrockets (J. scopulorum) is that they have the tendency to throw out large amounts of juvenile foliage if they're cut back hard.
Aphids seem to love them and the foliage has a tendency to stay very coarse/sparse.
I would repot it in late spring if I were you. I've done it in early summer (last year) and mid summer (this year), and it turned out alright. But spring would be better.

cishepard

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
My experience with Skyrockets (J. scopulorum) is that they have the tendency to throw out large amounts of juvenile foliage if they're cut back hard.
Aphids seem to love them and the foliage has a tendency to stay very coarse/sparse.
I would repot it in late spring if I were you. I've done it in early summer (last year) and mid summer (this year), and it turned out alright. But spring would be better.