clinoptilolite Zeolite

defra

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
In reasearching different soils
I was already aware of this product and research tells me it sounds real great for bonsai good size particles high cec levels and holds a good amount of water all natural np chemical additions
Found a bag of this stuff in a pet store 13€ for 25 kilo pre sifted in particle size 2,5 mm to 5 mm worth a try i think !

So now i am wondering if anyone here has experience with clinoptilolite Zeolite ?

Starfox

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10b
I'm glad you asked this question, I brought an orchid type pot the other day and it came with a bag of Zeolite from the maker Lechuza pon. I had no idea it was even in the box but it does look pretty good stuff and with a nice small particle size. I'm going to keep it and mix it with some Kanuma and wood chips for my mame contest trees. Plenty of people use it that I have seen but I have no experience of it myself yet.

KiwiPlantGuy

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
In reasearching different soils
I was already aware of this product and research tells me it sounds real great for bonsai good size particles high cec levels and holds a good amount of water all natural np chemical additions
Found a bag of this stuff in a pet store 13€ for 25 kilo pre sifted in particle size 2,5 mm to 5 mm worth a try i think !

So now i am wondering if anyone here has experience with clinoptilolite Zeolite ?

Hi defra,
I have been trialing Zeolite as a 30% part to my Bonsai soil. That with 30% pine bark and 40% Pumice.
A fact to consider is it has a high pH, somewhere round 7.5 - 8.5, so the fear of hard water to irrigate with puts your whole growing out of balance, as most trees like it between 5-6 pH.
Why I like it is it does hold good moisture, as you said, and drains freely, and my opinion is it can work nicely in conjunction with pine bark as the bark is quite to a lot acidic to do the balance thing.