Coast Redwood ... again!

Newbietoredwood

Sapling
Reaction score
Last year you all helped me with a coast redwood query. Well, as it turns out, that redwood is in fact a bald cypress! Over-wintered successfully and busting growth all over.
So, I am awaiting delivery of a young coast redwood of 60 cm height. When it arrives, can I reduce the height (like a dawn redwood) to encourage trunk thickening and keep it to my desired height? I'm in the U.K. equivalent zone 7-9. Thanks in advance. Gwen.

Cdd123

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Congratulations on the new tree. I am not a redwood expert, and have never tried a substantial trunk chop on my coast redwood. However, my understanding is that the tree would handle this very well. I have cut multiple branches and the tree responded great. They bud constantly and are always pushing new growth.
With all this being said, if you want to thicken the trunk I would let it grow a while before considering a major chop. They thicken pretty quick if you simply let them do their thing.

Deep Sea Diver

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
So, I am awaiting delivery of a young coast redwood of 60 cm height. When it arrives, can I reduce the height (like a dawn redwood) to encourage trunk thickening and keep it to my desired height? I'm in the U.K. equivalent zone 7-9. Thanks in advance. Gwen.
Yes you can.

Choose an appropriate spot based upon your design goals, chop and wire up a new apex. As you get closer to final design chop you may consider a bark graft to cover the scar.

cheers
DSD sends

Newbietoredwood

Sapling
Reaction score