Coastal Redwood Tree. Too Large to Train as Prebonsai?

Hermes33

Yamadori
Reaction score
I found someone locally with Redwood small trees. They are in a 5 gallon pot Any suggestions on what to do initially? As you will note in last picture they have multiple low level trunks/branches coming out and wondering if I can propagate these. Dimensions below.

Height: 49in
Spread: 28in near middle
Trunk: 1 1/4in549E5CC8-CA89-4834-87BA-7D9EDA0786A6.jpeg4800C6B5-1368-41CC-BDBE-F357B4A224BC.jpegA4DC761F-C497-4741-A17F-F36F76F0ACC9.jpeg

Attachments

• 06EBFE46-60FD-46D4-9986-8DC586023831.jpeg
    06EBFE46-60FD-46D4-9986-8DC586023831.jpeg
    243 KB · Views: 56

Frozentreehugger

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
First I have no experience with redwood . Not something you find in Canada 😂😂. But that is not to big to train . Not by a long shot . Multiple options exist . Basically the tree can be cut down and a low branch wires up and trained as a leader . To start a bonsai . I think you will find a lot of more experienced people would allow the teee to grow as is. Be careful to keep lower branches as a future top . And use the existing top to grow as a sacrificial piece . This will create a larger base of the trunk in a faster rate . Essentially when the trunk is the size you want then you chop it down and start to create a bonsai . At this time a great thing to do is wire the tree to add movement in the lower trunk . Again think of the lowest portion as the future tree

Hermes33

Yamadori
Reaction score