Collecting loblolly pines

DeepSouthBonsai

Seedling
Reaction score
I am brand new to pines. I moved to an area in Mississippi covered in loblollies. So I figure that while they may not be the most coveted species for bonsai, this is the perfect opportunity to learn the ropes. i recently read to treat loblollies like JBP, and I figure I could always get a nice JBP material later after I learn.

I am curious to hear the best practices for collecting pines. I have never collected a conifer and could use all the advice I can get!

Specific questions:

Bet time to collect?
How much rootball to leave if any? It rains a lot here, and I have not had good luck with junipers in organic bc of this. I do worry about there being a mucky center of mud and clay.
What substrate should I use on newly collected pine?

Thank you!

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
I can only speak for my own type of pines since I don't know loblolly at all, but the best advice I can give you is the following:
1. Try a couple smaller and younger trees first. Leave the coolest ones for when you have the skillset to do proper pre-, during- and aftercare.
2. Best time is spring.
3. You leave as much rootball as possible, Mauro Stemberger has a lot of digging short videos and you can look those up and see what's more or less ideal in size. American yamadori diggers make videos too, it's good to have a look at those as well.
4. Look for soil pockets with organic soil, collecting pines from sand or straight rocks is virtually impossible. Accept the fact that you'll see 1000 trees and maybe find one that will be collectable.