collecting trees

August44

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5-6
I have been collecting some trees for the past 2 months in the mountains behind town. I have collected Larch, Lodgepole, Ponderosa pine, White Bark pine, and Western White pine. Every time I go I have to go a little higher to get into an area where they are still dormant, and I am about to run out of mountain. It seems that the pines go to sleep with the candles area pushed out a bit and are covered with a light, rusty brown sheath. When the time is right in the spring that area starts to grow and the candles are formed. Being new to this art, I wanted to ask about when to dig and when to no longer dig. When the candle shows signs of growth of any kind is it time to stop? I realize that it will depend on how I dig them. I try to dig and collect the entire root system of the tree and then take home in soil from the mountain and repot after trimming off a little of any tap roots, and raking out old soil in the correct soil for pines in growing pots. I then don't do anything with them until I see signs that new growth coming along, and then I do minimal until next spring. Could I get you to give me advice etc so I will not be doing this wrong?? Thanks much in advance. Peter

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
Stop collecting when they start moving. Has worked for me.

Never rake out the old soil in the first year. Keep as much intact as possible. And surround that soil with good inorganic soil.

Try not to over collect when you're not yet experienced. Some of the trees will die, and it would be a shame to lose nice specimens due to just digging before you know and feel how to handle them. Pines can take months to die, and months to show signs of them not feeling well. You don't know if you've done well until next year or at least the end of next season.