Colorado’s Literati Ponderosa Pine

Colorado

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Looks awesome! I am hoping to get mine like that someday. What resources have you found helpful regarding the care of Ponderosa? I am fairly new to the species and have been reading Larry Jackel's book.

Thank you! I pretty much just follow the Mirai method for ponderosas. I am also a student of Todd Schlafer and he follows the same method. There are lots of great ponderosa materials in the Mirai video library!

Larry is also a top-notch bonsai professional. I don’t know for sure, but I’d wager that Larry has probably been doing bonsai with ponderosas for longer than Ryan and Todd have been doing bonsai combined. 😁 However, I have to confess that I haven’t read Larry’s book. I did have a nice discussion with him at a club meeting a few months ago about pine shoot tip moths, though. 😃

Potawatomi13

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Larry Jackel's book.
First visit with Ryan 2014 Ryan said pretty much Larry does Ponderosa all wrong! Ryan Neil favorite tree Ponderosa. He is the Ponderosa guru😌.

Colorado

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
First visit with Ryan 2014 Ryan said pretty much Larry does Ponderosa all wrong! Ryan Neil favorite tree Ponderosa. He is the Ponderosa guru😌.

Haha. I am not sure that I believe Ryan would use those particular words about a fellow bonsai professional 😆.

But I agree that Ryan is a ponderosa guru! I prefer to keep an open mind and consider information from multiple sources. Yes, Ryan has some wonderful ponderosas. So does Larry.

For those that are not aware, Larry Jackal is the curator of the Denver Botanic Gardens Bonsai Collection. If you haven’t visited the collection, there are some very high level bonsai that exist under Larry’s care. He is a very experienced bonsai professional. He’s also a really great guy. Very generous with his time and his knowledge. This thread has reminded me that I really want to read his book!