Complete Noob Please Help

Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
So I’m new to this site, and to the world of Bonsai!

So on a whim I ordered a weeping willow bonsai from Etsy. It has not arrived yet, but is described as a 10” Burning bush Weeping Willow cutting, shipped bare root! Started reading the reviews and apparently this seller includes extra cuttings with every order so I’m expecting to receive 1-2 cuttings in Addition to what I purchased.

Then today I found 2 other bonsai and brought them home. They are pictured below.
A90A8B31-D8F8-40DD-97AE-67C71B6BC26E.jpeg929B33ED-EF0E-40FF-8D83-3C9A039FFA51.jpeg
One is a Ficus Retusa….it is very young.
The other is a Golden Joy Juniper. Also young but a little more matured.

I did begin to prune the juniper but stoped because I realized I have no idea what I am doing. I don’t know the first thing about bonsai or any techniques or when I should start or stop wiring.

so far is what I have.
EBFE233B-5572-4779-BB39-93575C142FD4.jpegAF421617-587F-4BCE-98BE-9DD598C9E8BF.jpeg36756B13-9393-4A14-884F-BDC4EE0C7C21.jpeg91341B35-5B6B-446A-88E8-2B1FA48D58DE.jpeg44A4372E-FA3B-4C0D-9319-B997D2319CDC.jpeg
Any tips, ideas, suggestions, and directions to take these projects would be greatly appreciated!
Also I’m located in Washington State, about 1 hr 45 mins north of Seattle

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Try to stay off whims! Fetsy!

Welcome to Crazy!

What's in the tank?🧐

Sorce

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
I think it would benefit you to check out Bjorn Bjorholms videos on shimpaku cuttings. Because they're about the same size as your juniper, and most junipers have similar approaches.

Juanmi

Mame
Reaction score
Hello and welcome!

I hope you'll enjoy your bonsai journey.