Cork Bark Japanese Black Pine and Needle Reduction

fredtruck

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
This year I decided to try to reduce needles on my Hayabusa cork bark Japanese Black Pine. I cut back all new growth in early June. After cleaning out all old needles, I was amazed at the different direction my design had taken. First, I could see just about everything on the tree. Second, the trunk and branches were much larger in relationship to the foliage than they were previously. This may seem like an obvious thing to say, but I’ve been working with this tree for 6 years. I got used to how it had been.

Other questions raised by needle reduction included the size of the pot. I’ve written a very brief essay that can be quickly downloaded at:

http://www.fredtruck.com/articles/photodistort.pdf

There you can find out why I chose the pot I did and what directions the tree might take in the future.

hayabusa before ul.jpg hayabusa corrected b 8-14-13 ul.jpg

Brian Van Fleet

Pretty Fly for a Bonsai Guy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
Hey, those little needles make your trunk look fat!

Did my Kyokko Yatsabusa recently, though less aggressively:

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    201 KB · Views: 74
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    199.3 KB · Views: 81

fredtruck

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Yes, the needle reduction does make the trunk look fat. I was very surprised. I like what you're doing with your Kyokko. That's a very nice tree.

fredtruck

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone