Cork Bark JBP help

Awpearce

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi, I was hoping someone with a little more knowledge on cork barks could help me identify the exact cultivar of this tree. It has those red buds some cork barks have, but the bark confuses me. For the age of the tree, I would figure the “wings” would be more developed, but then again I’ve never worked with cork barks before. Thanks!

Attachments

• 2E4EAC6C-B2C9-4281-B935-D189EC147CB8.jpeg
    2E4EAC6C-B2C9-4281-B935-D189EC147CB8.jpeg
    218.3 KB · Views: 89
  • 0460D7B4-2C77-490C-976A-15F2DC861FEC.jpeg
    0460D7B4-2C77-490C-976A-15F2DC861FEC.jpeg
    267.5 KB · Views: 72
  • 6F50145B-5F8F-46E4-BF69-FCDF1F211E70.jpeg
    6F50145B-5F8F-46E4-BF69-FCDF1F211E70.jpeg
    279.3 KB · Views: 74

junmilo

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Here's two of my Corky for you to compare, and the colors of the candles are white...not red..

Yours look like regular aged pine. Again, I could be wrong. Let's wait for the experts.

Attachments

• 20201217_130756.jpg
    20201217_130756.jpg
    119.5 KB · Views: 51
  • 20201217_130704.jpg
    20201217_130704.jpg
    154.3 KB · Views: 48

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b
@Awpearce - without a provenance for the actual name for the cultivar of cork bark pine, it is not possible to determine which cultivar you have. Its like owning a pedigree dog, without papers. It is possible to guess if you know this is a grafted tree, but at best it will be a guess. There are dozens of named cork bark varieties with red buds, and in the USA at least 5 or more are in circulation. Add to this that there are a fair number of cork bark JBP produced from seed. When both pollen and cone parent of seed are cork bark pines, about 25 % to 50% of the seedlings will eventually show the cork bark traits. These seedlings tend to be slow to display their cork bark traits, 10 to 20 years would not be an unreasonable wait.