Cork oak start

Loubonsai

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9-1
I just picked up a cork oak weirdly enough at Walmart. What they were doing with three cork oaks I can't imagine. Most "real" nurseries don't even have them. I chose one where the top few feet had died, and all kinds of back budding was happening down the trunk. I cut the dead top off, trimmed a couple roots and temp. Potted it. The trunk is 1" tapering to 1/2" and is 2' tall. Lol I'm new at this so my question is what's next? Trunk is boring straight. How much shorter should I make it? I'd appreciate any suggestions on whats next.

Attachments

• 20220921_122824.jpg
    20220921_122824.jpg
    309.3 KB · Views: 89

BrianBay9

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Looks like that has some scars from being staked up? I'd start by just growing it out until those scars are not obvious.

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I've found them to back bud prolifically in spring, about the time of dropping old leaves.
I would chop it then.
Then choose a new low shoot to be the trunk continuation and wire it on an interesting trajectory.
Then let it grow.

Bark grows prolifically after a while, so it is difficult to create taper in the usual ways. I think this means that you should focus on creating an interesting trunk line rather that focus on creating trunk taper. Given that the bark is peeled from plantation trees (harvesting cork for wine stoppers, among other things), one likely can also create taper by selectively 'harvesting' bark later on, though I have yet to see anyone do this (including myself). Also, they 'heal' very quickly because of this.

... all, IMO.

BTW, I have several quercus suber trees that I obtained as young seedlings from Arborday, if you happen to be looking for more. They are very slow growing in my climate, but yours is much more favorable for them.

Potawatomi13

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
The trunk is 1" tapering to 1/2" and is 2' tall