Creating Bonsai from small maple trees...

jkgarner

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I have acquired three maple trees. Well they were trees that were about 12 feet tall with trunks that are 2 to 3 inches in diameter, which were growing in 3 gallon pots at a nursery for several years. The owner and I cut the roots which had broken through the pots free from the ground, and topped the trees at about 18 inches. (horizontal cut) He is an experienced grower and produces many bonsai for sale, and told me that I could turn these into bonsai. Being game, I took the trees, and am now looking at what to do with them. (Yeah I'm new to this.) Aside from covering the wounds with a sealant, re-potting them into more appropriate pots, and spreading the roots out to get a wider, shallow root system, I do not see much else to do but let them grow a year or two and then start training the branches that form. I am welcome to suggestions. Any thoughts?

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
I don't bother sealing the first cut. First cut can be any angle because we cannot predict where the new buds will grow. After new shoots have emerged and grown strong we cut the remaining stump at an appropriate place and angle. That's the time to seal the new final cut.
I doubt you will be able to move many roots on a tree that size. It's more a matter of pruning the existing roots hard to form a shallow, plane of best lateral roots. Maple roots can be pruned as hard or even harder than the trunk and they will still grow new roots from the cut ends of each root.
Expect to spend 5- 10 years to produce reasonable bonsai from cut stumps.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce

jkgarner

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Post pics. 18 inches sounds too tall, but hard to say.