Curious About My Flying Dragon

Godschick

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Hello ! So this is my first post and I’m totally a Noob, actually probably not even to that stage yet. ;-) I’m still learning terminology and super basics. Anyways I acquired this Flying Dragon the other day and was wondering if anybody has one of these or has experience with these? From what I understand they do not need wired as they twist and bend on their own as they grow. Any feedback on these guys and how you specifically do pruning around or on those brutal thorns once they develop would be awesome. I haven’t planted it yet because obviously the pot I got for it is way too big. Also how small of a pot would you go? Thanks in advance for any feedback!

Attachments

• 7E947DE9-03F4-40C9-82C1-FF5B5D9027EE.jpeg
    7E947DE9-03F4-40C9-82C1-FF5B5D9027EE.jpeg
    153.6 KB · Views: 140
  • 06443812-505B-4FD1-806B-7D8EF3589328.jpeg
    06443812-505B-4FD1-806B-7D8EF3589328.jpeg
    203.9 KB · Views: 142
Last edited:

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
They are an interesting botanical on their own but quite unruly and unpredictable as a bonsai.

Godschick

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
They are an interesting botanical on their own but quite unruly and unpredictable as a bonsai.
Very interesting indeed. I’ve seen ones that were larger and they were actually pretty gnarly and amazing looking. If nothing else, it will be very interesting to see what it grows into. Supposedly they have beautiful blossoms and smell amazing in the spring. On the other hand the fall leaves are not impressive at all. Just curious if anyone’s actually had one and how they dealt with it.

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone