Curly Willow 2.5 year progression from hard chop to detail wiring

Mikecheck123

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
This tree is special to me because it's one that I have been working the longest and have spent the most hours on. I pulled it off a trash heap in Nov. 2016. It was an unremarkable patio tree with about a 1 inch trunk. Unfortunately, I have no pictures of it then because I didn't yet understand the importance of documenting progress.

In April 2017, I hard chopped it flush to the ground. My timing was blind luck, as I was still a total noob. It turns out that that's a great time to hard chop things.

By fall, it was an 8 footer with about a 3-inch trunk. Here it is in February 2018 when buds were starting to pop.

IMG_20180210_111047.jpg

So it was time for another hard chop:

IMG_20180210_121955.jpg

About 3 months later, the whips were already 4 feet long, so it was time to wire the primary branches. I was not prepared for how quickly the wire would cut in, and some of those initial scars are still visible today.

IMG_20180429_162136.jpg

Like all noobs, I wanted a WEEPING willow. I wasted a lot of time trying to make the branches weep with clothes pins. NOTE: it does work! But as you'll see, it becomes unsustainable very quickly.

By June of 2018, I was excited that it was already kinda lookin like a weeping willow.

IMG_20180629_200354.jpg

But the problem is that every single shoot on a curly willow wants to grow STRAIGHT UP. So you have to keep adjusting the clothes pins if you want to get anywhere.

I fought this habit valiantly for about another year.

This is March 2019:

IMG_20190326_171046.jpg

By June 2019, my enthusiasm for fighting it and constantly readjusting clothes pins was gone. As the branches ramify, the problem gets exponentially harder, too.

I noticed another issue--even if my plan for a weeping willow suceceded, you would never see the best attribute of this tree: it's trunk.

IMG_20190620_073034.jpg