Custom Made Wooden Training Pots...

fraser67

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
PST
I'm new to this site and fairly new to the Bonsai culture...just 3 years
I've got a number of trees now (over 50) and many in the training stages.
I'm a cabinet maker and furniture builder by trade and got tired of looking at cut off black plastic containers in my back yard (as did my wife)...so I decided to make wooden training boxes...but I wanted them to look decent, so, this is what I've come up with:2013-03-08 10.46.22.jpg2013-03-08 10.48.09.jpg2013-03-08 10.52.29.jpg2013-02-27 17.39.43.jpg
They are 2 x 8 Redwood with 1 x 6 Cedar bottoms. Screwed and glued (stainless and exterior) with a water based exterior finish. I've got 3 sizes: 19x15x7.5, 15x15x7.5 and 15x12x7.5.I'm selling them for $45 ea.
I'd love to get your thoughts...
Thanks in advance :)

Nybonsai12

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
These look very nice! Maybe even too nice to be considered a training pot. Nice job.

Poink88

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Very nice! :)

I personally am not sure if I can shell out $45 (plus shipping I suppose) on something that will eventually rot. Though redwood & cedar will take longer than most wood.

Good luck with your venture!

Stan Kengai

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
They look extremely nice with great craftsmanship. I would however like to see more drainage, and perhaps one with the entire bottom screened (with only small structural supports) somewhat like an Anderson flat. For maples, an interior depth of 2 to 3 inches would be ideal. Nice work, though.

DaveV

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a