Cutting top of Bald cypress

Ipheek

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello! What happens to the of a bald cypress when it gets chopped? Can you propagated? Does it get thrown away? I’m a newbie! Thanks!

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Trash,
like you said, you are a newbie.

AlainK

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9A
What happens to the (top ?) of a bald cypress when it gets chopped?

At this time of the year, it is very unlikely a cutting will root. I'm not sure cuttings are easy to take in any season anyway. ;)

You should try it, but don't hope too much.

jquast

Chumono
Reaction score
they do air layer easily, I've taken several in the past.

Ipheek

Seedling
Reaction score
At this time of the year, it is very unlikely a cutting will root. I'm not sure cuttings are easy to take in any season anyway. ;)

You should try it, but don't hope too much.
Oh I’m not doing anything now. I’m not that new haha I’m thinking in the next two-three years. Just wondering what people do!

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Air layering, trying to save a top is mostly unless and pointless UNLESS the piece being removed is worth saving. If it's just a telephone pole straight with no taper or branching, it's not worth the trouble.

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Air layering, trying to save a top is mostly unless and pointless UNLESS the piece being removed is worth saving. If it's just a telephone pole straight with no taper or branching, it's not worth the trouble.
I am not sure calling it useless is on the mark, at least for me.. It is a second plant after all, whether you have future bonsai hopes for it or simply want another bald cypress. The questions for me would be:
---Is it worth your time as a prospective new plant? Probably not. You can but well rooting and growing bc for $6 or maybe less.
---Is it simply something you want to do, just because you can? Have at it and have fun learning from the experience.